Meet Our Staff

Anna Chiarenza

achiarenza@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Chiarenza assists Mrs. Iezzi in the Country Store as they seek to be a light in the community.

Kent Day

Farm Manager

farm@oklahomaacademy.org

Mr. Day is working to bring good produce from the soil while at the same time planting seeds of industry and good work ethic in his student workers 

Alice Day

Farm Assistant

aday@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Day loves working with her husband to produce beautiful produce on the OA Farm.

Pictured with children: Kisha, Jonathan, Zachery, and Angela

Claire Luz-Diaz Henderson

Music Director, Teacher, Grade School Principal

music@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Henderson leads the choir and chorale, choosing music and designing programs that present saving truths through song. She also teaches voice lessons, music theory, and speech.

David gonyea

Maintenance

dgonyea@oklahomaacademy.org

Mr. Gonyea is kept busy keeping the vehicles serviced and running and maintaining the campus infrastructure.

Karen Holland

President of Oklahoma Academy

kholland@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Holland also teaches Bell Choir and Health and serves as the school nurse.

 

Brian Holland

Pastor and Teacher

bholland@oklahomaacademy.org

Mr. Holland teaches Bible, Marriage and the Family, Cultural Geography, and American History. The Hollands have been on the faculty since 1984.

Jean-Marie Dumar

Maintenance and Country Store

jdumar@oklahomaacademy.org

Originally from France, Mr. Dumar delights students and customers alike with his French accent.

Donna Dumar

Teacher

ddumar@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Dumar teaches French, English, and World History. The Dumars have two children. Pictured here is Jonathan.

Morgan Hunte

Cafeteria Director

cafeteria@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Hunte manages the cafeteria, preparing healthful meals and training her students in the art of food handling.

Christian Hunte

OA Publishing Director

info@oapublishing.org

Mr. Arroyo heads up the design, publishing, and sales of the Academy Study Bible and the Mission Study Bible with EGW comments. Pictured here with their daughter, Abigail, and dog, Zoltan. 

IMGL0476.JPG

Elder Jim & Donelda Hiner

Founders of Oklahoma Academy

Elder & Mrs. Hiner started the academy in 1981. Elder Hiner served as the president and principal for 20 years. Mrs. Hiner faithfully kept the books until her recent retirement.

Lula jenkins

Business Office Manager and Vocational Coordinator

MUoffice@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Jenkins keeps up with the many tasks in the Missions Unlimited Business Office.

Sharon iezzi

Country Store Manager

countrystore@oklahomaacademy.org

Miss Iezzi has brought her enthusiasm and entrepreneurial skills to the Country Store, expanding it's reach in the community.

IMG_0006.JPG
IMGL0423.JPG

mark jagitsch

Outreach Director and Grounds

Pastor Jagitsch keeps the grounds looking beautiful and also works with the students to organize outreach activities.

Cara jagitsch

Cafeteria Assistant

Mrs. Jagitsch helps Mrs. Hunte with the meals and greets the students with a cheerful smile as she serves lunch.

Cindy Miller

Baker

cafeteria@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Miller brings her expertise to the bakery making delicious breads and pies for the students and the Country Store.

 

sOLOMON lAZAR

Math and Chemistry Teacher

slazar@oklahomaacademy.org

Mr. Lazar teaches chemistry and algebra.

Basanthi LAzar 

Elementary Teacher's Assistant 

blazar@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Lazar is mother to Elga, Enoch, and Elijah and helps out in the elementary school. 

Topher Kyle

Bookkeeper

bookkeeper@oklahomaacademy.org

Topher Kyle has stepped in to fill a very important need as the bookkeeper. He brings cheer to the whole office with his singing while he works.

Duncan Paniagua

Registrar and Teacher

registrar@oklahomaacademy.org

dpaniagua@oklahomaacademy.org

Mr. Paniagua brings his contagious energy and enthusiasm to streamlining the school office and teaching Algebra II, and Computers.

IMGL0468.JPG

Janyce Sendelbach

Treasurer

bookkeeper@oklahomaacademy.org

As she crunches numbers and keeps her eye on finances, Mrs. Sendelbach often gives a cheerful greeting to students passing by her office. Pictured here with her husband, Larry Sendelbach.

Shurley119.jpg

Julie Shurley

Communications and Media

communications@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Shurley, with the help of student workers, keeps up the OA website and social media, does photography and videography, designs and edits the newsletters and the yearbook among other things.

Trey Shurley

Teacher

development@oklahomaacademy.org

Mr. Shurley teaches Anatomy and Physiology, World Literature, and Writing Workshop. The Shurleys have three boys - Cameron, Christopher, and Michael (plus one: Gogo Sinurat)

Clifton brooks

Aviation & Development

aviation@oklahomaacademy.org

Mr. Brooks wears many hats as he serves as flight instructor, vocational director, development director. 

Cynthia Brooks

Girls' Dean

cbrooks2@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Brooks is mother away from home for the girls in the dorm.

The Brooks have four children: Celeste, Carolina, Caleb, and Cyrus

Dale Cruttenden

Boys Dean

dcruttenden@oklahomaacademy.org

Mr. Cruttenden fulfills the role of Dad to the boys with good humor and fatherly direction.

Mafalda Cruttenden

Librarian

library@oklahomaacademy.org

Mrs. Cruttenden serves as the school librarian and study hall assistant, but just as important, she brings a mother's care to the boys' dorm.

Pictured here with their grandchildren, Chandler and Cheriss.

Staff 

Commitment

1

i will

Maintain an actively growing relationship with Christ by prioritizing this activity above all others.

2

i will

 Pray daily for God to make me a channel of His grace so that I will be enabled to love all my students, and to guide them with His divine wisdom.

3

i will

I will actively teach students in all settings how to nurture each other emotionally and spiritually and take every opportunity to guide them away from behaviors that would wound themselves and others in any way.

4

i will

Not expose myself or my students to influences that would weaken our ability to discern good from evil or lessen our interest in spiritual things.

5

i will

Incorporate Biblical principles into my teaching in every class or setting.

6

i will

Model in my own life the stated goals for Oklahoma Academy students while understanding that I, also, am growing in these areas.

7

I will

Do everything that lies within my power to develop harmonious, nurturing relationships with my colleagues on this campus.

8

i will

Uphold the policies outlined in the Student Handbook in a spirit intended to reach the heart rather than just effecting outward compliance.

9

I know,

Live, and share the message and mission of the Seventh-day Adventist Church.